Catch up

Well, that was an unexpectedly long blogging hiatus. I’m going to go with “far too busy having exciting adventures” rather than “far too disorganised and also maybe just a little bit lazy and oh, yes, I keep forgetting to take my camera out”. Ahem. And that’s not entirely untrue, for there have been little adventures, in no small part thanks to a shiny(ish) new (to me) bicycle, bought from a friend off on a big, faraway adventure.

This is the first bike I’ve owned in Japan, and my first made for two. The toddler, luckily, adores it, and is far happier sitting up front whizzing around town than she has ever been in a pushchair. This city is perfectly suited to two-wheeled transport   – the beach, the big park with the sandpit that isn’t full of cat poo, and the shop with the cheap olives, are all suddenly easily accessible, hours (and yen!) spent waiting for/on buses a thing of the past.

(Helmet choice toddler’s own).

Rainy season has come and (pretty much) gone and we were fortunate here to escape the flooding nearby areas suffered, the worst of it for us a case of soggy socks and mild cabin fever. Days of finger painting and teddy bears’ picnics to a soundtrack of thunder are really not so bad at all.

After the rain, of course, comes the heat of summer, the drumming of rain replaced by the humming of cicadas and a local park’s Irises making way for the lotus garden.


I’ve written here about my love of winter in Japan and really, who complains about Spring and Autumn? But summer, oh, summer in Japan and I have not been friends. Most people, I suspect, will tell you the same – it’s not the heat itself, but the humidity, like walking through soup, face towels working overtime. The thick, airless, sticky days of July and August are, frankly, just plain yucky.

This year though – at least, so far – has seemed easier. Perhaps it’s because I’ve finally adjusted to a life where 34 is a normal temperature, or because it’s only July and the worst is yet to come, or because, in my current (mostly) stay at home existence, it doesn’t matter so much if I’m soaked in sweat and red in the face, but so far, I’m kind of enjoying it. I have a feeling that in a couple of weeks, when I start teaching a class that means taking a commuter train, wearing a suit, looking smart, I might be a little less enamoured of summer.

However unpleasant and sticky, though, there is, of course, always the food. The heat makes me want to drink vinegar by the bottle, but in efforts to be a little more balanced, we have been eating bowl after bowl (after bowl) of this cold soba dish, and takes on this cucumber salad. Plus, of course, heaps of fruit – watermelon, plums, peaches – straight up, smoothie-fied, and occasionally in pancake form. 

We will have visitors this summer, and maybe a camping trip, and hopefully a not insubstantial amount of ice cream, and it will fly by so that before I know it, we will have been here in our new home for a whole year, and I will be mother to a two year old.

5 comments

    • If we’d moved to Japan in August I seriously don’t think I would’ve lasted the year. I found that first summer so so hard, had no idea it would be so hot and humid. (My own google research was very much on the minimal side).

  1. Oh lordy lord – you have the bike that I’ve been looking at for forever and a day since thoughts of riding around town, with Brent atop the handlebars, entered my mind – but I’m looking at red. Frackers and Panasonic and the Angelino ones re all too darn expensive and a little less ‘cool’? 😉 Anyway, what is it like? Any regrets? Dd you get it through a bricks and mortar store/online. Sorry for the barrage of questions! X

    • Hi! Bikes are awesome, we get out and about so much more now. I got mine from a friend, who bought it on Rakuten. I love it, but I wanted one so badly I probably would love any bike! It’s not perfect, the wheel is tiny and the seat was too low for me (169 cm) so I bought a longer seat post, and now my knees *almost* hit the baby seat. But! I’m really happy with it overall, it was cheap, my daughter loves it (so so much happier than in the pushchair/on the bus) and it is pretty darn cool 😉 Red would be even better! x


Leave a Reply

